Tearing at the Fabric

Of the space-time continuum

You WERE the Only Exception

2 Comments

I have always connected in a very visceral and emotionally intense way with music. I know I am in no way alone in this. Most of the world needs some form of music to survive, to emote, to connect….

So, lately I have been listening to all sorts, a lot of ‘back catalogue’ to my life, mostly stuff like The Pixies, LCD Soundsystem, Arctic Monkeys….

But today, one that my daughter had on her iPhone in my car reminded me so clearly of the tears I shed over a song by a band I probably don’t really think twice about. It was released in 2009, and the lyrics, O. M. G. I thought maybe I wrote them! 2009 was the year the affair ended, and the year it was exposed to me several weeks later. The year my “exception” showed he was no exception, he was a lousy, stinking, lying sack of shit, just like I was afraid most men might be…but not him.

You see, I was that girl, the girl who watched her parents’ marriage disappear into oblivion, and my lesson was, “love is shit, be your own woman, be strong, independent, and don’t love a man if you can help it, if you can’t help it, love a DAMN good one, the “only exception.” I was sure I had found him, Roger was just a wonderful man, a caring and loving partner, strength, softness, and darling all rolled into one perfect-for-me package. We loved and were loved. Those were some truly amazing decades 🙂 I had hit the jackpot. He was the exception.

Until he wasn’t.

I still can’t believe it.

(And I won’t even go there about the band’s name – perfect in a totally sick way for this topic, huh….)

When I was younger I saw my daddy cry
And curse at the wind.
He broke his own heart and I watched
As he tried to reassemble it.And my momma swore
That she would never let herself forget.
And that was the day that I promised
I’d never sing of love if it does not exist.

But darling,
You are the only exception.
You are the only exception.
You are the only exception.
You are the only exception.

Maybe I know somewhere deep in my soul
That love never lasts.
And we’ve got to find other ways to make it alone.
Or keep a straight face.

And I’ve always lived like this
Keeping a comfortable distance.
And up until now I have sworn to myself
That I’m content with loneliness.

Because none of it was ever worth the risk.

Well you are the only exception.
You are the only exception.
You are the only exception.
You are the only exception.

I’ve got a tight grip on reality,
But I can’t let go of what’s in front of me here.
I know you’re leaving in the morning when you wake up.
Leave me with some kind of proof it’s not a dream.
Oh-oh-oh-ohhh.

You are the only exception. [4x]

You are the only exception. [4x]

And I’m on my way to believing.
Oh, and I’m on my way to believing.

2 thoughts on “You WERE the Only Exception

  1. Oh….I had forgotten this song. Isn’t it such a strong sense of emotion that we get from songs?
    I still get tears when I hear an early Beatles number when my first puppy died. Our mind is such a powerful thing.
    When I was at the retreat I had to close my eyes and think about a sad time in my life. I chose DDay. Of course! Within minutes I was crying. I could feel the anger, pain, hurt,sadness, sorrow. I was actually re living that bloody awful moment as though I was in a trance. How powerful but so scary. Then, trying to relive in my mind a happy time was a bit more difficult because I was so overwhelmed in grief. I eventaually did but it took a lot of work to escape the pain and feel a tad of peace.
    How the hell can we overcome our powerful thought processing to not let the power of our mind lead us into that dark place?
    Wish I could be like my border collie. Food.happy,sleep,food,happy,sleep.
    Hug xxxxx

Leave a Reply

