Tearing at the Fabric

Of the space-time continuum

Retro radio moments. Vol. 1.

9 Comments

Since I no longer have kids in my car constantly, I changed radio stations some months ago. Yep. Old school. Actual. Radio. No iPod/iPhone on my bluetooth connection. The station I listen to is an alternative rock station, and they do play a fair bit of old stuff along with great new sounds. Anyway, this oldie is a fave, always loved it, and turned it up loud the other day. Yes, I am THAT crazy, middle aged woman you see driving around with the radio blasting, singing enthusiastically and bopping around at the wheel.  I remember Rog playing it for me in the early days of this after affair crap. He has apologised, several times (is there ever “enough” times?) but not too many tears. He left that part to me.

He still wishes I could change my mind.

“Boys Don’t Cry”

I would say I’m sorry
If I thought that it would change your mind
But I know that this time
I’ve said too much
Been too unkindI try to laugh about it
Cover it all up with lies
I try and
Laugh about it
Hiding the tears in my eyes
’cause boys don’t cry
Boys don’t cryI would break down at your feet
And beg forgiveness
Plead with you
But I know that
It’s too late
And now there’s nothing I can doSo I try to laugh about it
Cover it all up with lies
I try to
laugh about it
Hiding the tears in my eyes
’cause boys don’t cry

I would tell you
That I loved you
If I thought that you would stay
But I know that it’s no use
That you’ve already
Gone away

Misjudged your limits
Pushed you too far
Took you for granted
I thought that you needed me more

Now I would do most anything
To get you back by my side
But I just
Keep on laughing
Hiding the tears in my eyes
’cause boys don’t cry
Boys don’t cry
Boys don’t cry

9 thoughts on “Retro radio moments. Vol. 1.

  1. I love the Cure, my favorite song by them is Fascination Street. I can’t listen to sad songs these days, they just tear me up.

    • So true. Sometimes best avoided. I also love The Cure. All that drama. I have too many favourites to choose just one. The first guy I fell in love with and I tried to consummate to Let’s Go To Bed, lol. We never managed “the deed” – a whole different story……The Cure always make me feel understood. Weirdo that I am!

  2. Good song. I love the Cure too. When my husband was unhappy I wish my husband would have cried instead of seeking solace with his whore. Mine wants forgiveness too… but I think I’ve just run dry.

  3. I love The Cure too, the whole album Disintegration was one of my all-time favourites…cuts a bit too close to the bone now 😦 I listen to ‘angry’ music in my car now, sing my heart out at full blast, it burns off some of the adrenaline I think. As for tears, my husband has always been the emotional type. He cried as I walked down the aisle, sobbed with joy when our children were born, and I always loved it. Now I find his tears annoying. He has almost literally cried me a river over his colossal fuck-up, but it doesn’t have the same effect on me. It fans the flames of my anger, makes me think ‘You weren’t crying when you were shagging the fat slag, why are you crying now?’. Ugh, infidelity: ruining music and tears the world over! I hope you’re keeping well Paula, as I’ve told you before your blog is very special to me xx

    • Oh yes! I can see how anmoying that would be, KJ! That would totally piss me off, too. I haven’t ever seen Roger cry – I mean sob – in nearly 28 years. Tears wet his cheeks when our eldest was born (all were long labours and I had an ambulance trip to the base hospital when our local maternity unit decided I would need a Caesar – I refused it and managed naturally, he waa moved.) He tells me he wept like a baby the third time I kicked him out. That time we were both sure I meant it and apparently he cried his heart out. He is a bit of a stoic type. Comes from Scottish Presbyterian stock. Strong. Outwardly stoic. I know he is hurt. But my tears felt lonely often (not to mention soft – I am emotional, but quite tough usually.) But crying over your own selfishness, yep. Grow a pair, lol!

  4. Oh man, the cure is still my favorite band and one of my regrets is never seeing them live (I think the last time they came to Canada was 92, and even then it was only Toronto). For anyone living with a broken relationship they can definitely be a difficult band to listen to though.

    he waits for her to understand
    but she won’t understand at all
    she waits all night for him to call
    but he won’t call anymore
    he waits to hear her say forgive
    but she just drops her pearl-black eyes
    and prays to hear him say
    i love you
    but he tells no more lies

    How did we get so far apart
    we used to be so close together
    how did we get so far apart
    I thought this love would last forever

    • Oh, Apart. Yep. One of my faves, too. I slso have never got to them live. Roger saw them in the UK in the early 80s. That would have been something! Yep. Lots of heartache, longing….

      Welcome and thanks for commenting, zombie 🙂

Leave a Reply

