Tearing at the Fabric

Of the space-time continuum

knocked the bastard off!

32 Comments

No, I haven’t beaten the mountain of infidelity. But I have finished my degree! Submitting final essay in the morning. This Everest has been climbed.

Solo. Without oxygen.

I got this far.

I wish it was the other mountain. But I know I am unable to climb that one. One needs to know one’s limits…

“Mountain At My Gates”

I see a mountain at my gates
I see it more and more each day
What I give, it takes away
Whether I go or when I stayI see a mountain at my gates
I see it more and more each day
I see a fire out by the lake
I’ll drive my car without the brakesI see a mountain in my way
It’s looming larger by the day
I see a darkness in my fate
I’ll drive my car without the brakes

Oh, gimme some time
Show me the foothold from which I can climb
Yeah, when I feel low
You show me a signpost for where I should go

I see a mountain at my gates
I see it more and more each day
And my desire wears a dark dress
But each day, I see you less

Oh, gimme some time
Show me the foothold from which I can climb
Yeah, when I feel low
You show me a signpost for where I should go

Through lanes and stone rows
Black granite, wind blows
Fire lake and far flame
Go now but come again
Dark clouds gather ’round
Will I run or stand my ground?

Oh, when I come to climb
Show me the mountain so far behind
Yeah, it’s farther away
Its shadow gets smaller day after day

Yeah, gimme my way
Gimme my love
Gimme my choice
You keep me coming around
Gimme my fate
Gimme my lungs
Gimme my voice
You keep me coming around
Gimme my lungs
Gimme my, gimme my, gimme my, gimme my
Gimme my, gimme my, gimme my, gimme my, gimme my way
Gimme my fate
Gimme my lungs
Gimme my choice
You keep me coming round

32 thoughts on “knocked the bastard off!

  1. Woo hoo. Let the celebration begin! You are amazing and inspirational! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‚πŸΎπŸŽ“

  2. Congratulations!!! Here’s to climbing mountains πŸ˜€

  3. Well done, Paula! Congratulations!! What’s next? πŸ™‚

  4. Well done! Clever gal – achieving this during the adultery nightmare! Such an achievement! Have a glass (or more) of Sauvignon blanc on me 🍸

  5. Woo hoo! That’s awesome!!! How are we going to celebrate? (Notice how I’ve included myself LOL–I’m such a cow).

  6. πŸ’ƒπŸ½πŸ’ƒπŸ½πŸΊπŸ™πŸ»πŸ’ƒπŸ½πŸΊπŸŽ‰πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘ŒπŸ’ƒπŸ½bravo lady you ROCK!

    • Cheers, owlie. Feels good to tick this off the list – exactly 30 years since I started uni fresh out of school – 5 degrees started, finally found the one I felt engaged enough with to complete. I completed the fuck out of it, too! (I hope! Just a small amount of self promotion, lol.)

      • Screw the small amount of self promotion you scream it from the rooftop!! Having been there, done it, got the scroll of paper I totally understand your elation. You completed the FUCK outta that degree cos you a supa’star πŸ™πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

  7. You are amazing x

  8. Paula, THAT IS AWESOME! Congratulations, you have reached the peak and conquered the mountain. Great things are coming your way, I can feel it. SWxo

    • Thanks so much, SW. I know. I guess I never fully grasped how permanent the pain would be. But you keep going. I’m okay. And that in itself is a bigger achievement than any piece of paper. I guess the piece of paper will always be highly valued to me, not just for the work I put into IT, but because it symbolises my battle to just stay alive for my kids’ sake.

      How are you doing these days, my sweet?

  9. Can you hear me clapping from Oklahoma? I hope so because I am cheering loudly and wildly for you my sweet friend…I mark this up as a victory for the “good guys”. We who didn’t ask for what happened, yet are using it to motivate us to be better, to do more, and just fucking rock this messed up world we were thrown into. Great big hug and tomorrow I’m going to have a drink and toast you. Love you so much!!!

    • Mwah, Miss Kelly! Flinging the love right back at ya! I didn’t get to my champers last night, hope to tonight after my boy gets home – has a late flight into Auckland, and is bussing to a nearby city. I will pop over and get him if all goes according to plan – he finished his first year yesterday, double celebration. (My son is a VERY scattered thinker, and when he booked his bus, well, let’s just say he wasn’t at his most logical! It leaves 25 minutes after his domestic flight is scheduled to arrive – budget airline, hmmm, we’ll see if he has time to collect his bags and run to the bus stop!) I might be doing a long drive up to Aucks! Then the champers will have to wait – and then I might turn it into a welcome home champagne breakfast! Why not?

      Us good guys know how to dig away for a silver lining, we will ALWAYS win!

  10. I agree with Kelly! This is a victory for the good guys!! I am so proud of you, and those words don’t even touch the feeling in my heart for you. Congratulations my friend! Kick that mountain’s ass. One clod of dirt at a time!

    • EG, thank you so much. It’s been a very rewarding couple of hard working years kicking this mountain’s butt. I am wary that the descent is always the most dangerous part of any climb. But I do have another peak in the same mountain range in my sights.

Leave a Reply

