Tearing at the Fabric

Of the space-time continuum

Closure

4 Comments

It never happens. I know. I’ve known forever. Closure was a weird concept someone drew up a few decades ago.

“The family therapist who created the field of “ambiguous loss” — loss without closure. Complicated grief: parents, divorce, addiction, dementia, aging. “You love somebody. And when they’re lost, you still care about them. You can’t just turn it off.”

There is no such thing as closure. In fact, Pauline Boss says, the idea of closure leads us astray. It’s a myth we need to put aside, like the idea we’ve accepted that grief has five linear stages and we come out the other side done with it. She coined the term “ambiguous loss,” creating a new field in family therapy and psychology. She has wisdom for the complicated griefs and losses in all of our lives and for how we best approach the losses of others.”

But you do ruminate and recycle. Less as time goes by, but for me, it is still gutting. I can’t fathom how he repeatedly told me how much he loved me, made love in a close and connected way (those eyes still drill into me, blackening as he got closer to orgasm …) and how he “promised” (cough) with a deep, lingering kiss, that one day we’d find our way back to each other. 🤢🤮😱😳

I have to always pull myself back up from those black holes. Those spirals of utter despair.

He didn’t love me. He used me. As BG says, I am too good to him. I was also “too good” to Rog. I gave and gave and gave.

Until he thought he had enough, I was no longer required. He had found a replacement. Someone he “loved” more than he ever loved me. I was a piece of shit.

I thought about this this morning after some deep and fast shower sex. BG was preoccupied. Is interviewing two young women this morning as potential bar staff.

So I got in the shower with him, and scrubbed his back.

He’s not usually a fast starter when thinking about something else. But holy hell, we were away, and things were over loudly and quickly, him saying, WTF, how did you do that to me? I’m gonna have a damn heart attack, babe!

And as his eyes drilled into mine, I saw Rog. His eyes connected with my soul. Penetrating me harder than….

Yeah. With only two lovers ever, I am uber aware of avoiding comparisons.

But they do inevitably occur sometimes.

Closure. Hmm.

I wish.

4 thoughts on “Closure

  1. I’m not really sure we ever get closure either. We never forget. It will never OK. Perhaps we’ll come to terms with the facts … But closure? I don’t think so!

    • I learned about the myth of closure, especially after my Mum died, DLH. I started getting it a few years after my parents’ divorce. A bit more adter I was violently raped by a “friend.” A bit more after my high school sweetheart broke up with me….etc. This time, with this unending grief, I 100% get it.

  2. Embrace that deep connection. Perhaps it is trust. You are trusting BG.
    ❤️
    Few things have closure. There is only acceptance and putting aside.

    • I do trust him, Anne. I wouldn’t be here after what happened to me without trust.

      I’m a trusting person. And I question that at times. I trusted so much. And that was why Roger got away with cheating with Leanne. I’m far more cautious. I am careful, hold my cards closer to my chest than before. But, I’m unfolding into this relationship. His friends are so, so supportive and encouraging. And I walk taller than I did. I am leaning in. Yeah, I might get hurt again. But I can’t EVER be hurt like I was by the man I believed for 30 years was “the love of my life.” There is less invested. But it still has value. I love what we have. It’s different. (Less, even.) But the value is there.

      I agree, and love your words. Acceptance and putting aside. Thank you, my friend. Hope you and the kids are well and thriving. XxXx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.